Energy Security Board

Overview of the Energy Security Board

In August 2017, the Energy Security Board (ESB), chaired by Dr Kerry Schott AO, was established by the COAG Energy Council. The Board’s role is to coordinate the implementation of the reform blueprint produced by Australia's Chief Scientist, Dr Alan Finkel AO.

The ESB will also provide whole of system oversight for energy security and reliability to drive better outcomes for consumers. The ESB comprises an Independent Chair, Independent Deputy Chair and the heads of the Australian Energy Market Commission, Australian Energy Regulator and Australian Energy Market Operator.

ESB Members.

More information on the Overview of the ESB can be found in it's Terms of Reference.

An Independent review of the ESB was conducted in 2020. Outcomes of this review can be found here.